Book review: Bleeding Love

253416511divider2-copy

BLEEDING LOVE

Author: Harper Sloan
Date Pub:
Jul. 14th, 2015
Series: 
Hope Town #2
Stars:
3.5 ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
Genre: 
Romance
POV:
 Dual, First Person
synopsis3I’ve loved once. I gave everything that I had to that love. Blindly believing that nothing could ever take that feeling away from me. Away from us. And when my little world of happiness was ripped from my fingers, I felt a loss that still haunts me to this day.

Now I use that lingering grief as a shield to keep my heart from loving again. It’s that fear that keeps me from letting anyone, except my daughter, get close enough to make it hurt. To make my heart bleed when I inevitably lose again.

Until the day I met Liam Beckett and everything I thought I had protected myself from was shoved back in my face.

He’s on a mission to prove to me that a love worth having is a love worth fighting for.

*Bleeding Love is the second book in the Hope Town series. It will follow Liam and Megan. Each book in the series is a HEA and can be read as a standalone.*

Links: Goodreads dividerreview1Megan was married for three years with her childhood best friend, Jack. It was more of convenience rather than love because she was raped and had Molly, her adorable and lovable daughter. Sure, they loved each other but not in that way. Jack enlisted to helped Megan, but died in war causing Megan to be guarded.

“Jack didn’t love me. I know he didn’t, but I was happy with him. He gave us a happy life… He cared for me and he cared deeply, but it wasn’t love. The only love we ever shared was what we had as friends. Best friends all our lives.”

Liam “Lee” Beckett was a cop. He’s Beck and Dee’s son and best friend of Dani (Izzy and Axel’s daughter). I loved this alpha hero.

Megan and Lee hooked up once but for Lee it was his way in through closed-off Megan. He knew she has baggage but that didn’t deterred him from pursuing Megan. Talk about alpha. Megan though was reluctant because of guilt. She felt like she’s betraying Jack’s loyalty and friendship. She needed a wake-up call and thank God for Lee! I loved his Feeling Alive list and then later their Feeling Together list. Another thing I loved about Lee was he wasn’t afraid to make his feelings for everyone especially Megan known and his intention to Molly as her future second Daddy. He actually asked for advised from his parents, his role model in the name of love. He want that with Megan.

“I think I was about eight when I first realized the relationship my parents shared was something . . . different… They had a love that went past anything explainable. And just like I knew when I first met Megan, she was the person that I would have that with.”

The conflict was Megan’s inability to let go of the past and later on Lee’s job. The only thing was I wanted more. The story was typical but I liked it nonetheless.footer1

Leave a Reply

