Book Review: Jax

jax

divider2-copy

JAX

Author: J.L Perry
Date Pub: Nov. 27th, 2016
Stars: 3.0 ⭐️⭐️⭐️
Genre: Romance, Second Chance Romance
POV: Dual, First Person

synopsis3
My name is Jaxson Albright. To my friends I’m known as Jax. I’m the disgraced son of well-known Politician, Malcom Albright. You could say I was born with a silver spoon in my mouth. I was supposed to follow in my father’s footsteps and move into politics. My whole childhood was spent being groomed for this role, but that wasn’t what I wanted. I had other plans.

To my family’s disgust, I’m inked, I’m pierced and I own and run a tattoo parlour, in Sydney. I fit in here. I can be the man I was destined to be, the man my family are ashamed of. The son they regret having.

I wouldn’t be where I am today if it wasn’t for my saviour, Candice. My pink-haired angel. We grew up in the same circle, but like me, she’s an outcast. She refused to conform to society’s ways. She’s the only one who stuck by me and not only encouraged, but supported my dream.

I love her. No, correction—I’m in love with her. I have been for as long as I can remember. She has no idea how I feel. It’s a battle I struggle with daily. I’ve kept my secret all these years because I couldn’t risk losing her. That’s a chance I’m not prepared to take, because she’s my best friend; my only real family.

I’ve spent the last few years moving from one hot chick to the next, trying to mask these feeling I have. But it doesn’t help—I can’t get her out of my head. She still owns my damn heart.

How do you get over the girl you know you can never have? And how do you live without the one person on this earth who was made for you?

She’s my soulmate.dividerreview1

Jax has been in love with Candice since they met and as Candice with Jax. They had a one-night together resulting in pregnancy. They were separated for three years before they met again. Maddie was their daughter. She’s adorable!

The major twist of the story was when Jax found out Maddie was his. I felt like he overreacted when this secret was revealed, but I understood him. They were both still in love with each other and again separated for two years before they got back together. Though, Candice was devasted by Jax’s distance, she’s waiting on the sideline and hoping Jax still loved her. He never stopped. It just that he was betrayed by Candice and that hurt him. If it weren’t because of Candice attack, I don’t think he would get his head out of his arse. Thank god he did.

This story was pretty common for me, but I still liked it. 🙂 footer1

Leave a Reply

