Book Review: Being Brooke

32597422

divider2-copy

BEING BROOKE

Author: Emma Hart
Date Pub: Dec. 12th, 2016
Stars: 4.0 ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
Genre: Romance, Rom-Com
POV: Single, First Person
Standalone
synopsis3

My name is Brooke Barker...

And I’m a freaking disaster.

No, seriously. I’m a college drop-out working a dead-end job, my best friend Carly’s dog gets more action than I do, and I have more bad dates in my diary than there are movie remakes.

Not to mention I’m completely and utterly in love with Cain Elliott.

The problem? He’s in a relationship. With a girl who’s so plastic she makes Barbie cry herself to sleep with jealousy.

The second problem? He’s my best friend.

My shut-up-and-put-on-Harry-Potter, yes-this-is-your-shirt, help-I-have-no-power, crap-I’m-out-of-tampons, kinda best friend.

And that’s all he can be, right?

Right.

(Being Brooke is a standalone romantic comedy. Hilarious, super-sexy, and possibly highly inappropriate at times, this is the perfect feel-good read!)dividerreview1

Brooke Barker was one hilarious girl. The drama of this book was Brooke itself. Not because she caused it but she’s THE drama. Dramatic, sarcastic, witty, and in love with her best friend for nine years, that’s Brooke Parker! I loved her. I wanna adopt her and make her bake me cupcakes.

Okay so she’s been in love with her best friend, Cain Elliot. Cain was in a relationship and Brooke and her wasn’t in friendly terms. She’s been waiting for Cain.

“Because I’m the one waiting in lie for someone I’ll never have…”

HA! of course she wouldn’t like any of his girlfriends. But never did she interfered with any of Cain’s relationships because she valued their friendship.

“I didn’t want to tell you and lose you. It was easier to ignore it and hurt than it would be to not have you around.”

I would describe Cain as an easy-going guy, funny, sarcastic, and HE’S DENSE. SO FREAKING DENSE! *whispers* he’s also had feelings for Brooke but not as long as she had for him.

“I’m also totally in love with him to the point I’ve considered photoshopping myself into pictures with him, so the best friend thing kinda sucks.”

Brooke’s quirky and had an “adulting” struggles. LOL. She’s so adorable! Her monologues were pretty hilarious.

Woo. Look at me, adulting all over the place.

Settle down, Brooke, you’re only boiling water.


“Seriously. Who let me adult? My fairy godmother needs firing.”

Besides that adulting struggles were her hidden feelings for Cain. Cain was freaking dense! every single one knew Brooke loved him but nooooooooooot Cain.

When they got together, I don’t know if it’s just me but they were less Brooke-Cain interactions. Their first kiss was awkward and they both made it awkward x 70 times (I lost count how many times awkward was mentioned). Brooke was scared and uncertained because she thought she’s a big mess and she’d f*cked up their relationship and later lose him altogether. Or because she thought she’s a rebound girl but Cain reassured her, she was not.

Eventually Brooke got the handle of her adulting problem. She’s a pretty great baker and from then on, she chased her dream and found herself, and FINALLY CAUGHT CAIN!

Cain, baby you made me swoon!

“You’re chaos, Brooke Barker. Luckily for you, I happen to love chaos.”

I want a relationship just like Brooke and Cain’s. They were pretty chill. Date your best friend people! (I ain’t responsible if you follow my advice, just FYI) ❤footer1

Leave a Reply

