Book Reviews: Checkmate: This is War // Checkmate: This is Love

dividerthecheckmateduetAuthor: Kennedy Fox
Date Pub: Oct. 3rd, 2016 / Dec. 13th, 2016
Series: The Checkmate Duet (Books 1 & 2)
Stars: 4.0 ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
Genre: Romance, Contemporary
POV: Dual, First Person

 

 


 

divider

31946442CHECKMATE: THIS IS WAR

*An enemies to lovers romance*

Travis King is the worst kind of asshole.
He taunts me for being a good girl and mocks my high standards.
He’s cruel, crass, and has enough confidence to last two lifetimes.
And I hate him.

It wouldn’t matter so much if he were avoidable.

But considering he’s my older brother’s best friend and roommate, I see him more than I’d ever want to.

His sculpted abs and gorgeous eyes are a waste on such an egotistical man, which makes me hate him even more.

Even though I’ve had a crush on him since I was ten, the feelings weren’t mutual and he’s always made that very clear.

He’s always loved getting under my skin and one night against my better judgment, I let him in my bed.

I’ve succumbed to his manwhore ways, but that doesn’t change a thing.

Because the King is about to get played at his own game—and lose.

Checkmate.review1

Travis King was a manwhore. He owned that title with a revolving door of one-night stands. He’s best friends with Violet Fisher‘s older brother, Drew. Though, Travis and Violet were once best friends until her 13th birthday.

Violet was in love with Travis until that doomed day. Violet heard Travis calling her a pathetic friend. From then on, they bicker and up each other.

“From being head over heels for him as a young girl to loathing him as a woman, Travis King needs to remember the golden rule-never admit defeat. It was game on.”

Travis missed the Violet who he started falling in love with when they were kids. He didn’t know the reason why she hated him not until Violet confessed it to him.

“She’s always been the forbidden fruit, the girl I’m not supposed to want. Over the course of pissing her off and pushing her away, she’s grown to hate me more than I believed possible. “

They were stuck together since Violet’s spending her Spring break at Drew and Travis’ house. And game on. Oh the sexual tension, the bickering, the funny moments of these two you can’t help but love them! They so much pull, they eventually give in.

This book ended with a cliffy. Why was Mia with Travis? Was he cheating? Why was Mia naked and what happened that lead to the car accident?


32881382

CHECKMATE: THIS IS LOVE

Viola Fisher is the epitome of perfection.
She despises my one-night stands and mocks my less-than-classy habits.
She’s smart, beautiful, and too good to be true.
And I want her.

If she were anyone else, I’d have made my move years ago, but considering she’s my best friend’s little sister, she’s always been off-limits. Not to mention how much she loathes my very existence.

Hating me is her religion, but needing her is mine. Her sexy curves and filthy smart mouth make me want her even more, and I’m more determined than ever to change her mind.

I’ll prove I’m done playing games.
But until then, we’ll continue to play by her rules.
Viola Fisher may have won the battle, but the war isn’t over yet.

Checkmate, princess.review1

Book number 2 picked up where it ended. Travis got into accident with Mia naked on the backseat of his Challenger. The hurdle Travis and Violet had to overcome was trust. With Travis’ manwhoring days were over, Violet can’t help but feel uncertain about Travis’ feelings toward her. They broke up because of Mia.

Mia fucking Montgomery. Ex of Drew. Let me talk about Drew and Courtney. Drew WAS FREAKING DENSE. Poor Courtney. Courtney’s best friend of Violet and had been crushing on first sight with Drew. Drew was hung up with Mia. DREW WAKE THE FCK UP. She’s a psycho biatch. Courtney’s been trying to get Drew to notice her but blind Drew was blind. Her text messages about Drew to Violet and/or Travis was hilarious. I’m rooting for them on book three, Checkmate: This is Reckless.

Back to Travola, Mia had to move to Boston for 6 months for her partnership. She found out she’s pregnant with Travis’ baby. By this time, Travis was opening his own marketing firm, King Marketing. They’re both reaching their dreams for their futures. Violet didn’t let anyone know about her pregnancy except Courtney until she came back home permanently. Travis was an amazing boyfriend. He really love Violet. Dude gave her a puppy ❤ named Gryff, namesake of Gryffindor from HP since she’s obsessed with HP. They’re too adorable 🙂

“I can’t imagine what my life would be like without you in it.”

It’d be dark, cold, and pointless,” she says, the courner of her lips tiltiing up.

“Always a smartass.”

“Always.”

“And I wouldn’t have it any another way. I love you Violet Fisher.” […]

“I love you too, Travis King.”[…] It’s the sweetest fucking sound in the entire world.

And they got engaged and finally had Ginny, their baby girl, and one on the way. They’re getting married on Feb. 2017 (Release of Drew and Courtney’s book).

“It’s just me and her and it’s that matters. She’s all that ever mattered.”

Travis King, checkmate babe.footer1

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

