Book Review: Scarlet Stone

31692086divider2-copy

SCARLET STONE

Author: Jewell E. Ann
Date Pub: Dec. 10th, 2016
Standalone
Stars: 4.5 ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
Genre: Romance, Contemporary
POV: Dual, First Personsynopsis3

“My name is Scarlet Stone, and my biggest fear is that someday I will find what I want most in life, and it will be impossible to steal.”

What happens when life just stops? When one moment makes you question your entire existence?

Scarlet Stone is a third-generation thief who has everything: a doting fiancé, a spacious London flat, and a legitimate job offer. In a single breath, everything becomes nothing, and she finds herself on a plane to Savannah, Georgia in search of the meaning of life.

After securing a six-month lease for a beachfront house on Tybee Island, Scarlet changes the way she looks, thinks, eats—basically her entire outlook on life. She needs peace, but what she gets is a housemate who looks like Thor, acts like a warden, and smells her proximity like a Bloodhound.

Theodore Reed is a carpenter and perfectionist with a body built of steel, a black, hollow heart, and a hunger for revenge. He doesn’t like company, girly-smelling crap, and British accents.

He resents every breath she takes.
She’s fascinated by his every move.

In time, they discover their coexistence is toxic, their physical attraction is electric, the secrets they keep mean the difference between life and death, and the only truth they share is that everything is a lie.

“Over eighty-five percent of the world’s population believes in a higher power, yet, very few people believe in miracles.”

Do you believe?dividerreview1

Wow!!!!! When betrayal, suicidal tendencies, cancer, and love clashes, you get a freaking mind-blowing book. I don’t even know how to start this review.

A hero who’s life revolves on revenge and hate and a broken, flawed cancer survivor heroine will give you a roller coaster emotions when you read this book!

Scarlet Stone was a daughter of a thief, Oscar, who took a blame and went to prison for Scarlet. She’s also has cancer. In fact, she’s surrounded this disease – her mom and best friend died with cancer. I just can’t help but adore her. She’s stubborn, vibrant, determined, loving, fierce, honest, and complicated. She’s funny as hell too!

When she found out she was dx with cancer and had six months to live, she sold her belongings, left her fiancee and dad. She ended up fleeing and met the grumpy room mate/neighbor Theodore Reed.

Theodore Reed. I just wanted to hug this dude. His life was all about avenging his parents deaths. His mother was murdered and his father killed himself brought by grief. His revenge added a suspense to the story. Theo hated Scarlet on sight. He had that “f*ck off” vibe.

“Revenge is a very animalistic part of human behavior that is ingrained in all of us from birth.”

These two had a love/hate relationship. Scarlet loved Theo but Theo was too focused on revenge but deep inside him he loved her back. He just doesn’t want to allow himself to be loved. They was too much pain and emotions. Theo’s an (anti) hero I wanted to hug then kick the next.

“I know how he feels.
It pisses him off that his heart let me in.
I know how he feels.
It pisses him off that he needs my touch.
I know how he feels.
“Go home. I don’t love you.”


“Fuck you, Scarlet Stone. Fuck you for taking my heart. Fuck you for … for …” he sobs.

“Fuck me for dying,” I whisper as I fall to my knees and hug him.


“Theodore Reed doesn’t hate me –he hates that he loves me. He hates that I came into his life when I did. Loving me is killing him. We are two wounded creatures suffering from unspeakable pain that has marred the decent people we once were.”


“Loving her hurts … Some days I swear it hurts worse than the loss of my parents. ”

She fight even when she’s a cancer patient. But a person can only take much. There was a point where Scarlet gave up her life. Almost but she wanted to die. She wanted Theo but she couldn’t have him. Without Theo and his love, she’s nothing. She surrendered to cancer.

“This is the lowest of all lows. Admitting I don’t want to live. I’ve never felt so weak, so pathetic, so nothing.”


“The only thing I truly felt was the arms of death. Weightless. Peaceful. Silent. Perfect.”

And finally freaking finally Theo allowed himself to love Scarlet. He was there at her lowest point. After he threatened to kill her. He realized his mistake, his forgivable mistake. Jeeez. He destroyed Scarlet at that. And Scarlet was crushed and gave up her fight. He asked her to actually kill her. Damn if I didn’t cry :'(. Only then and finally freaking finally Theo allowed himself to love Scarlet.

“You,” I whisper. “You take it.”
Theo’s forehead wrinkles, eyes squinted. “Take what?”
“My life.” […]

“I can’t take your life …” The words rip from his throat. “So, fuck you…” more tears “…because you’ve already taken mine.” […]

“Don’t … don’t do this.” His mouth covers mine again.” […]

“Scarlet,” he whispers again.
Chills. I never thought it was possible for someone to whisper life back into another person. I was wrong.
He swallows hard. Eyes red. Cheeks stained with emotion. “Live for me.”

Theo was having a hard time letting go of his revenge and Scarlet knew this. If you only allow yourself to love and let go, only you’ll truly be free. Love always wins.

“You…” he tightens his grip on my face as he presses his forehead to mine “…are mine now. I build you. I give you life. I make you perfect again.”

Gosh, what a ride. Read this book. It’s not a typical story but it’ll leave you awed. It’s inspiring .footer1

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

