Book Review: Perfectly Imperfect

26805129divider2-copy

PERFECTLY IMPERFECT

Author: Harper Sloan
Date Pub: Nov. 17th, 2015
Standalone
Stars: 4.0 ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
Genre: Romance, Contemporary
POV: Dual, First Personsynopsis3

Mirror, mirror … who’s the fairest of them all?

I still cringe when I hear that line. A fairy tale that had girls pretending they were the fairest, the most beautiful, and the most entitled. A fairy tale most couldn’t grow out of turned my haunted childhood memories into a living nightmare. Girls who grew up believing that pile of garbage became the meanest of all ‘mean girls.’

And those mean girls were right – it was a line meant for all the beautiful people in the world – and I knew the answer would never be me.

The women with long legs, flat stomachs, and perfect chests.

The type of women Kane Masters gravitated toward.

Well, that’s definitely not Willow Tate.

No. That will never be me.

Because I’m completely imperfect.

And … I hate myself.

I have no idea what Kane could possibly see in someone like mewhen he could have them.dividerreview1Willow Tate was being tormented by her dad and sister. She’s been verbally abuse. She’s divorcing her as*hole, unfaithful husband who’s been sleeping with her sister. Yeah, too much drama around Willow. To add to her miserable life, Kane Masters witnessed two embarrassing moments of her life. Willow decided to stop being weak and instead she’ll be a  strong Willow. She won’t let anything bring her back down again. She realized she’s worth more.

Like I said… today is the day when everything I have been working toward comes to fruition. Today, I choose to be a better me. One who doesn’t hate herself. One who isn’t so self-conscious of everyone around her.
Today, I choose strength.
 “

Kane Masters an A-lister Hollywood actor. Despite being adored by many and being rich, he’s lonely and wished for a companion who needed him and not his status and money. He felt a connection with Willow.

“I’m lonely. Surrounded by millions and still the loneliest motherfucker around.” […] But I will never be lonely enough to settle for one of vapid, fake women who surround my lifestyle. I want someone real. I need a challenge. I want to feel that connection to someone I’ve never  been able to find. That one you read about. the one that makes you feel alive. Awakens you with just a glance.”

With millions of fans and lusted by gorgeous women. Beautiful, supermodel-like women who was not Willow. She had body image problem. She thought she’s not beautiful. But Kane disagreed. He wanted Willow the moment he saw her and he was determined to have her and protect her from pain caused by her family. And Willow didn’t understand why Kane wanted her. Kane saw her.

Kane offered one of Willow’s friends as the make-up artist for his coming movie he’s directing. This was Kane’s ulterior motive – to be closer and get to know his Willow. Gosh, I loved how Kane was so patient and supportive of Willow’s insecurities. Thank goodness for Eddie and Kirby for pushing her to give Kane a chance because he was one of the people who believed in her and he made Willow strong, grow, and blossom. Although she’s uncertain and still don’t get why Kane’s giving her attention, she decided to go for it.

“I don’t know, Kirby. I’m completely new at this!”
“I know, honey,” she says and turns her head to meet my eyes. “And it’s so beautiful to watch him bring you to life.”


“There isn’t beauty in perfection. It’s as fake as the image the word projects. Beauty is found in imperfection, Willow, because to admit you’re not perfect means you’re admitting you’re not whole and absolute. When I think of myself, I see someone willing to admit he’s as far from complete as it gets because, in order to get to that perfection, I need to find the other part of me who will make my life better. To take all the faults I have and fill them, and only then will I be there. You see, the way I see it, the only way to become perfect is to find that perfectly imperfect person who brings it out of you.” – Kane to Willow

And they perfect together! They’re a cute, cheesy couple, and their bedroom tangos was hoooot!

The drama of the book was Mia, Kane’s best friends who’s also famous. She’s pregnant with one of Kane’s brothers. Hollywood rumored that the two were been dating on and off. Mia asked Kane’s a favor to keep her pregnancy quiet and let the Hollywood speculate that the baby was his. This created a hiccup in Kane and Willow’s relationship. But when the truth came out, Willow was so understanding and forgiving even when she would be dubbed as the “other woman” who broken up Kane and Mia. He could’ve explained the whole secrecy to Willow but he’s pride and promised to Mia ruined them. I felt like he trusted Mia more than Willow despite how Willow’s been with Kane. Oh well, stupid male pride.

The message of this book was to love yourself before you can love others. Self-image does factor being who you are, but it doesn’t reflect knowing who you really are. It’s okay to be perfectly imperfect. footer1

 

Leave a Reply

