Book Review: Worth The Wait

31879814divider2-copy

WORTH THE WAIT

Author: Claudia Connor
Pub Date: Jan. 10th, 2017
Series: Mckinney/Walker #1
Stars: 3.0 ⭐️⭐️⭐️
Genre: Romance, Contemporary, Second-Chance Romance
POV: Dual, Third Personsynopsis3

He broke her heart. When he finds out just how badly, it will break his too. 

Nick Walker found the love of his life when he was just nineteen.

Found her.
Loved her.
Lost her.

It’s been ten years since Nick watched the only women he ever loved walk out of his life. Now this FBI Special Agent will do anything to win her back.

But it won’t be easy…

Mia’s heart was shattered by Nick. They’ll have to face their painful past if they want a future, including Mia’s own secret about that day it all fell apart.

Do you believe in second chances?dividerreview1

This book was perfectly written but I’m so disappointed in Nick. Being an FBI agent, he seemed weak to me. Okay at first he was so loving and attentive on Mia but after Hannah, his sister, was abducted he shut down and became closed off. I understood where he was coming from but him putting his blame and guilt on Mia? HELL FUCKING NO! He kept pushing Mia away when she only wanted to help. I felt like he was so unfair with how he treated Mia. And that’s how he lost his Mia.

As for Mia, she was easy to forgive because she’s been in love with Nick since they met and after 10 years she still felt the same. Same with Mia, I would forgive Nick. That’s given. But I wouldn’t jumped on his bed quickly. When they did the deed after 10 years, guess what dumb fuck Nick did? HE PUSHED HER AWAY! Then they reverted back to ignoring each other. Mhm. So much hurt, blame, and guilt.

“You didn’t want me, Nick. You didn’t.”

I loved you! I was surviving on you!

“Maybe, maybe not,” she said, countering his storm with calm. She wouldn’t yell, she wouldn’t fight with him. She didn’t have the energy for it. “Maybe I was just too much of a reminder. Maybe I still am.”

“[…] so we’re ten years later and still exactly the same place.”

He shifted on his feet, tilted his head. “And where’s that?”

[…] Me loving you. You blaming me. But I give up. You’ve got the past clenched so tightly in your fist, I’ll never be enough to make you let it go. I can’t go back to that place we were. It nearly killed me.”

Nick was undeserving of Mia, to be honest. Sure he was sorry, but Nick didn’t even grovel.  Nick, you’re the reason I couldn’t love this book considering I loved the McKinney Brothers 😥footer1

Leave a Reply

